County Seat: St. Johns
Founded: 1879
Area: 11,198 square miles
Population: 71,518 (2010)
Other Major Cities: Alpine, Chinle, Ganado, Springerville, Tsaile, Window Rock
Geographic Highlights: Apache County is home to the headwaters of the two forks of the Little Colorado River. It also includes White Mountains destinations such as Big Lake, Hawley Lake and Baldy Peak, along with the Navajo Nation’s Canyon de Chelly National Monument and most of Petrified Forest National Park.